Tourism Fernie Home Page
  • Old School Memories - remembering the former schools of the Elk Valley
  • Old School Memories - featuring artefacts, photographs and plenty of nostalgia!
  • Old School Memories at the Fernie Museum
  • Fernie Museum
  • Wednesday • June 26, 2024
  • 3:30 pm
  • In Town

Launching the Museum's summer exhibit, Old School Memories.

Opening at 3:30pm. Admission by Donation.

After-school snacks and juice boxes provided.

Class may be dismissed, but don’t miss the chance to learn about Elk Valley schools this summer! Find out more about schools of a century ago, or reminisce about your own school days at Mountainview, Max Turyk, Fernie Central or Ridgemont.

For decades, schools have been at the centre of Valley life. From small wooden schoolhouses to mid-century brick and concrete classrooms, schools were not just places to learn but places to gather, to celebrate, to compete, and to argue about the future.

The Fernie Museum's summer exhibit explores the history of the Valley and its people through the story of its 24 vanished or transformed schools, from Elko to Elkford to the Crowsnest Pass, and from Morrissey Mines schoolhouse (closed 1903) to Max Turyk Elementary (closed 2007).

The exhibit is packed with fascinating details gleaned from school inspections, yearbooks, photographs, decades of local newspapers, and the memories of students and teachers. 

Presented by the Elk Valley Retired Teachers. Exhibit will run from June 24th to Thanksgiving.

  • Share
  • Contact Information
  • 250 423 7016
  • Contact By Email
    security code
  • 491 2nd Ave, Fernie, BC, V0B 1M0